Alert Top Message

Due to concerns about COVID-19, the AAUP office has transitioned to telework. Please contact staff by email.



AAUP At-Large Chapter

At the June 2019 AAUP Annual Meeting, the membership voted to approve a set of organizational changes as part of the association’s restructuring proposal, including the creation of a new at-large chapter, effective January 1, 2020. The at-large chapter is made up of individual AAUP members who are not eligible for membership in a campus chapter of the AAUP. An overview of restructuring is available here.

The primary purpose of the new at-large chapter is to provide its members with the opportunity to nominate and elect delegates to the AAUP biennial meeting, where the delegates will cast the votes of the chapter in the election of AAUP officers and on other matters. As a national chapter, the at-large chapter does not represent individual members in disputes, nor does it intervene on behalf of its members at their institutions. At-large chapter members are encouraged to form their own campus AAUP chapter if they are interested in addressing specific issues or situations on their campus. 

At-Large Chapter Bylaws

At-Large Chapter Delegates

2020 Nomination Notice for At-Large Chapter Delegates

Interim Officers

Jane Buck, President (2021)
Psychology, Delaware State University

Rana Jaleel, Vice President (2021)
Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies, University of California, Davis

Sally Dear-Healey, Secretary-Treasurer (2021)
Sociology/Anthropology, State University of New York at Cortland

At-Large Chapter Delegates

The chapter membership was notified electronically on February 21, 2020, of the March 20, 2020, deadline for submission of delegate nominations. That same announcement was sent by US mail on February 21, 2020, to members without an email address linked to their membership profile. Based on the chapter membership as of April 1, 2020, the at-large chapter is entitled to eight delegates. We received nominations for thirteen candidates, of which seven accepted and six declined. As a result, the seven confirmed nominees have been elected by acclamation. They are, in alphabetical order:

Jane Buck, Delaware State University 

Sophie Christman, Stony Brook University

Sally Dear-Healey, SUNY College at Cortland

Tatyana Dumova, Point Park University

Stephen L. Finner, University of Vermont

Mark Geary, Dakota State University

Rana Jaleel, University of California–Davis

Chapter delegates will cast the votes of the chapter in the election of AAUP officers. Typically, voting takes place at the Biennial Meeting of the AAUP. However, due to guidance issued by the CDC and state and local governments, we are unable to hold the meeting as scheduled. The election of AAUP officers and Council members will be conducted by a secret mail ballot of chapter and section delegates starting on or about June 19, 2020. Three officers—president, vice president, and secretary-treasurer—and two at-large Council members will be elected.

Please mark your calendars for an online general membership meeting on Wednesday, May 6, 2020 from 1:00 p.m.–2:00 p.m. EDT for a review of the delegate election process and a chance to interact with some of the chapter’s delegates. We will send more detailed information about the format of the meeting and how to participate as the date approaches.