Alexander Meiklejohn Award for Academic Freedom

The Alexander Meiklejohn Award for Academic Freedom is given to an American college or university administrator or trustee, or to a board of trustees as a group, in recognition of an outstanding contribution to academic freedom, preferably during the previous two years. Nominations are submitted in the form of supporting letters and biographical material. A nomination from an AAUP chapter or faculty senate or union ordinarily begins the process, but occasionally the national AAUP has invited a local faculty body to nominate an individual. Letters of endorsement from other groups and individuals are welcome. The award is made only when the contribution to academic freedom is judged to be truly outstanding.

Please contact Anita Levy for more information.

Recipients of the Alexander Meiklejohn Award

1958 President Eldon L. Johnson and the Board of Trustees of the University of New Hampshire
1959 Chancellor Ethan A. H. Shepley of Washington University (St. Louis)
1960 Dean Guerdon David Nichols of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences of the University of Arkansas
1961 Dr. Robert W. Mance, a trustee of Allen University
1962 President Arthur S. Flemming of the University of Oregon
1963 Mr. Henry L. Bowden, chairman of the Board of Trustees of Emory University
1964 President Clark Kerr and the Board of Regents of the University of California
1965 President Willis M. Tate of Southern Methodist University
1966 President Mason W. Gross and the Board of Governors of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
1968 President J.W. Maucker of the University of Northern Iowa
1969 President George W. Starcher of the University of North Dakota
1970 Reverend Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., president or the University of Notre Dame
1973 President Thomas E. O’Connell of Berkshire Community College
1975 The Board of Trustees of the University of Maine
1978 The Board of Trustees of Wake Forest University
1984 Vice President for Academic Affairs Dale Nitzschke and Dean of the Graduate College James F. Adams of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas
1988 President W. Randall Lolley of Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
1995 President Sean Fanelli of Nassau Community College (New York)
1998 President Roger W. Bowen of the State University of New York at New Paltz
2000 Chancellor William Danforth of Washington University in St. Louis
2003 President Molly Corbett Broad of the University of North Carolina
2010 President Patricia Ann McGuire, Trinity Washington University