Outstanding Achievement Award

The Outstanding Achievement Award was established in 2016 by combining three previous awards honoring Beatrice Konheim, William Tacey, and Al Sumberg. In recognition of the outstanding efforts of these individuals on behalf of AAUP principles, the award goes to an individual AAUP member for outstanding chapter- or conference-level work in advancing academic freedom or shared governance; promoting the economic security of academics; helping the higher education community organize; or ensuring higher education's contribution to the common good.

The award, in the form of a certificate of recognition, is presented at the AAUP Conference and Biennial Meeting, which occurs in even numbered years. The winner receives a monetary award in the amount of $500, which may be split among multiple winners.

To nominate a candidate for the award, please send by email a description of the nominee's achievements with supporting materials to Malori Musselman. Your message should also include the nominee and nominator’s names, institutions, and email addresses for contact. 

Recipients of the Outstanding Achievement Award

  • 2017: Charlie Baker, College of the Holy Cross
  • 2018: Alexander Zukas, National University
  • 2019: AAUP-Wright State University Chapter (AAUP-WSU)
  • 2020: Becky Hawbaker, University of Northern Iowa
  • 2022: Rachel Ida Buff (University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee)