Elected Leaders

The leaders of the Association are drawn from colleges and universities throughout the country.

Campus-based chapters elect leaders locally. In many states, chapters form state conferences to work on statewide issues. State conference leaders are also elected locally.

At the national level, officers are elected every four years, and are assisted in governing the Association by an elected national Council that meets three times a year, with additional meetings as needed. AAUP officer and Council member elections are held pursuant to the AAUP Constitution, Election Rules, and other Association rules and procedures.

Officers/Executive Committee Members

Irene T. Mulvey, President (2024)
Mathematics, Fairfield University

Paul Davis, Vice President (2024)
History and American Government, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College


At-Large Council Members

Ernesto Longa (2026)
Law/Library Science, University of New Mexico

Nivedita Majumdar (2024)
English, City University of New York, John Jay College

Glinda Rawls (2024)
Counseling, Western Michigan University

Regional Council Members

Region 1
Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands
Antonio Gallo (2026)
Chicana/Chicano Studies, California State University, Northridge
Region 2
Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgian, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia 
Karin Rosemblatt (2026)
History, University of Maryland, College Park      

Region 3 
Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Canada
Gretchen McNamara (2026)
Music Education, Wright State University

Region 4
New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands
Donna Murch (2026)
History, Rutgers University 
Region 5
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
Davarian Baldwin (2026)
American Studies, Trinity College

Other Members, Non-Voting

Risa Lieberwitz, General Counsel (2024)
Law, School of Industrial & Labor Relations, Cornell University

Nancy Long, staff