Looking for a specific staff member? A staff directory appears below.

General Contact Information

Phone (202) 737-5900
Use an automated system to select individuals or departments from a menu of options. 

Ground mail

American Association of University Professors
555 New Jersey Ave NW, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20001


Social Media
Follow the AAUP on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Staff Directory

Office of the Executive Director

Julie Schmid, Executive Director
Nancy Long, Deputy Executive Director
Shalita Gray, Human Resources Manager

Department of Academic Freedom, Tenure, & Governance

Please direct inquiries to the department email, [email protected].

Gregory Scholtz, Director (On Leave)
Anita Levy, Senior Program Officer (Acting Director)
Mark Criley, Senior Program Officer
Michael DeCesare, Senior Program Officer
David Langkamp, Program Coordinator

Department of External Relations

Please direct media inquiries to [email protected].

Gwendolyn Bradley, Director, (202) 594-3633
Kelly Benjamin, Media & Communications Strategist, (470) 377-0977
Michael Ferguson, Senior Editor, (202) 594-3642
Kelly Hand, Writer/Editor, (202) 594-3648
Mariah Quinn, Digital Organizing & Chapter Development, (on leave)
Austin Rhea, Communications Assistant, (202) 594-3626

Department of Finance and Administration

Carlton Briscoe, Controller, (202) 594-3662
Seyar Niaz, Senior Accountant, (202) 871-3639
Wilhelm Davidson, Office Coordinator/Purchasing Agent, (202) 594-3637
Lawrence Waldron, Accounts Payable/Payroll Associate, (202) 594-3656
Torya McGee, Event Planner (202) 594-3647

Membership Staff

For membership-related questions, please email [email protected].

Rebecca Lewis, Assistant Director of Membership Accounting, (202) 594-3659  
Debra Hanible, Administrative Coordinator, (202) 594-3622    
Remy Tubongbanua, Membership Database Specialist/Trainer, (202) 594-3643 
Zachary Kesler, Database Administrator, (202) 594-3632        

Legal Department

Aaron Nisenson, Senior Counsel
Edward Swidriski, Assistant Counsel
Department email: [email protected]

Department of Organizing and Services

Mark Bostic, Director
Shawn Fields, Western Lead Organizer, (702) 728-1421
Ellen Kress, Organizer, (541) 600-5831
David Kociemba, East Coast Organizer, (617) 612-5103
Marlan Maralit, Lead Organizer, (703) 309-9709
Malori Musselman, Organizer, (202) 998-2679 
Monica Owens, Field Service Representative, (202) 594-3627
Jerome Thompson, Organizer, (516) 984-1732
Latibe Seidou, Program Coordinator, (202) 594-3652

Department of Research

Hans-Joerg Tiede, Director, ‪(202) 596-5016
Glenn Colby, Senior Researcher, (202) 594-3640
Ruben Guzman, Research Assistant, (202) 594-3660