2024 AAUP Election Information

Elections for AAUP officers and members of the governing Council will be held this spring. Here's the information you need to participate. 


The Association’s Nominating Committee seeks nominations for candidates for election as officers of the AAUP, and as members of the AAUP’s governing Council, at the June 2024 Biennial Association Meeting. Nominations are due by Friday, March 15, 2024. Three officer positions—president, vice-president, and secretary-treasurer—and two at-large Council member positions are open for election. Elected officers will also become officers of the AAUP Foundation Board of Directors; elected Council members will also become members of the AAUP Foundation Board of Directors. All terms are for four years, beginning after the close of the Biennial Association Meeting.

All members of the Association in good standing, but not associate members, are eligible to be elected to officer and Council positions and to nominate other eligible members. The committee seeks a diverse group of candidates with experience in the AAUP at the local, state, or national level.

If you wish to nominate yourself or another member as a candidate for election to an officer or Council position, please send a nominating petition to the Nominating Committee, using this form. It must be signed by at least six AAUP members in good standing. Nominating petitions must be postmarked or sent by email by March 15. The nominations process is set forth in the AAUP Constitution and the AAUP Election Rules.

The Nominating Committee will submit its final report to the Council by April 1. Elections shall be conducted by secret ballot of the credentialed delegates at the Biennial Association Meeting. Candidate campaign rights are set forth in the AAUP Election Rules. Please send nominating petitions by email to [email protected] or by surface mail to AAUP Nominating Committee, 555 New Jersey Ave. NW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 20001.

No more than one at-large Council member may be from the same region. For the purposes of this election, there is an at-large Council member from region 1.

Council regions are as follows: 
REGION 1. Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands;
REGION 2. Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia;
REGION 3. Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Canada;
REGION 4. New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands; REGION 5. Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont.    


The officer and Council positions will be filled in a secret ballot election of credentialed delegates of AAUP chapters and sections at the 2024 Biennial Association Meeting, to be held on June 14 and 15 at the DoubleTree Crystal City, 300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, Virginia, 22202.

Chapter and section delegates must be AAUP members elected by secret ballot, provided that no ballot need be taken if there is only one nominee per position. (A section is a group of small chapters in a state that jointly elect delegate[s] to represent the chapters.) Chapters and sections are entitled to 1 delegate for each 250 members (for example, 10 members = 1 delegate; 251 members = 2 delegates), up to a maximum of 10 delegates.

The credentialed chapter and section delegates shall be entitled to cast ballots equal to the number of members from the chapter, or the aggregate number of members of chapters participating in the section, respectively. If there is more than one chapter or section delegate, the votes of the chapter or section will be split evenly between the delegates. The election process is set forth in the AAUP Constitution, the AAUP Election Rules, and the Weighted Voting and Delegate Credentialing Procedures, available here

In order for delegates to be credentialed and eligible to vote, chapters and sections must submit to the AAUP a delegate registration form listing all of their proposed delegates, and any alternates, by May 15, 2024. Individual eligible delegates must sign in and receive their delegate credentials at the biennial meeting delegate credentialing table no later than 5:00 p.m. on the first day of the biennial meeting, which is June 14, 2024. 

The election will be held by secret ballot of credentialed delegates on the second day of the biennial meeting, which is June 15, 2024.