Alert Top Message

Due to concerns about COVID-19, the AAUP office has transitioned to telework. Please contact staff by email.



Advisory Committees

Academe Advisory Board

Advises on columns, features, design, and other matters regarding the Association's magazine, Academe.


Michael F. Bérubé (English)

Pennsylvania State University, 2021


Julie A. Cajigas (Communication)
University of Akron, 2022


James Davis (English)
City University of New York Brooklyn College, 2023


Nicholas Fleisher (Linguistics)
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 2023


Juan González (Communication and Information)
Rutgers University, 2021

Tina Kelleher (English)
Towson University, 2021


Aaron Krall (English)
University of Illinois at Chicago, 2023


Caprice Lawless (English)
Front Range Community College, 2022


Jonathan Rees (History)
Colorado State University, Pueblo, 2022


Henry Reichman (History)
California State University, East Bay, 2021


Donna Young (Law)
Ryerson University, 2022

Michael Ferguson, staff
Kelly Hand, staff


Bulletin of the AAUP Advisory Board

Advises on content, design, and other matters regarding the Bulletin, the Association's journal of record.


Michael DeCesare (Sociology)
Merrimack College, 2023

Henry Reichman (History)
California State University, East Bay, 2021

Michael Ferguson, staff

Gregory F. Scholtz, staff

Litigation Committee

Serves as a legal advisory board for the Association’s office of staff counsel and general counsel.  Provides expertise in such matters as employment law, education law, the First Amendment, intellectual property, labor law, and civil liberties.  Individual committee members may serve as consultants on AAUP amicus briefs that fall within their specific areas of expertise. While the committee provides advice on whether or not the AAUP should file an amicus brief in a particular case, the final decision to file is made jointly by the president, general counsel, and general secretary.


Risa L. Lieberwitz (Law)
Cornell University, chair, 2022

Joan E. Bertin (Public Health)
Columbia University, 2021

Meera Deo (Law)
Thomas Jefferson School of Law, 2023

Emily M. S. Houh (Law)
University of Cincinnati, 2023


Neal Hutchens (Education)
Pennsylvania State University, 2021


Martha T. McCluskey (Law)
State University of New York at Buffalo, 2023


Maria L. Ontiveros (Law)
University of San Francisco, 2023


Geoffrey R. Stone (Law)
University of Chicago, 2023


Aaron Nisenson, staff

Edward Swidriski, staff