Officers & Council

Executive Committee of the Council

Rudy H. Fichtenbaum, President (2018)
Economics, Wright State University

Henry Reichman, First Vice-President (2018)
History, California State University, East Bay

Caprice Lawless, Second Vice-President (2018)
English, Front Range Community College

Michele Ganon, Secretary-Treasurer (2018)
Accounting, Western Connecticut State University

Maria T. Bacigalupo, Member-at-Large (2018)
Administration, Planning, and Social Policy, Curry College

Anne Friedman, Member-at-Large (2018)
Linguistics and Academic Literacy, Manhattan Community College, City University of New York

Lisa Minnick, Member-at-Large (2018)
English, Western Michigan University

Irene Mulvey, Member-at-Large (2018)
Mathematics, Fairfield University

Risa Lieberwitz, General Counsel (non-voting) (2018)
Law, School of Industrial & Labor Relations, Cornell University

Brian Turner, ex officio as Assembly of State Conferences Chair (2018)
Political Science, Randolph Macon College

Howard Bunsis, ex officio as AAUP-CBC Chair (2017)
Accounting, Eastern Michigan University

Julie M. Schmid, staff


District I
Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah

Jonathan Rees (2018)
History, Colorado State University–Pueblo

Chris Nagel (2020)
Philosophy, California State University–Stanislaus

District II
Alaska, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming 

Philip Cole (2018)
Physics, Idaho State University

Friedrich Schuler (2020)
History, Portland State University

District III

Mehmet Yaya (2018)
Economics, Eastern Michigan University

Lisa Minnick (2020)
English, Western Michigan University

District IV
Arkansas, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Missouri, Tennessee, Virginia

Nancy McKenney (2018)
Library, Eastern Kentucky University

Kathryn Kuhn (2020)
Sociology, Saint Louis University

District V
Alabama, Canada, Florida, Foreign, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Virgin Islands, West Virginia

Kevin Cope (2018)
English and Comparative Literature, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge

Leslie Bary (2020)
Spanish and Latin American Studies, University of Louisiana, Lafayette

District VI

Linda Rouillard  (2018)
French, University of Toledo

Vacant (2020)

District VII
New Jersey

Zoran Gajic  (2018)
Electrical and Computer Engineering, Rutgers University

David Hughes (2020)
Anthropology, Rutgers University

District VIII
New York

Anne Friedman (2018)
Linguistics & Academic Literacy, Manhattan Community College, City University of New York

Sally Dear-Healey (2020)
Sociology/Anthropology, State University of New York-Cortland

District IX
Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont

Irene Mulvey (2018)
Mathematics, Fairfield University

Julian Madison (2020)
History, Southern Connecticut University

District X
Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island

Maria T. Bacigalupo (2018)
Administration, Planning & Social Policy, Curry College

Michael DeCesare (2020)
Sociology, Merrimack College

At-Large Delegates

Jacqueline Aranté  (2018)
English, Portland State University

Cynthia Klekar  (2018)
English, Western Michigan University

Diana I. Rios  (2018)
Communication/El Instituto, University of Connecticut

Vacant  (2018)

Natalio “Nathan” Avani (2020)​
Secondary Education, San Francisco State University

John Castella (2020)
Labor Studies, Rutgers University

Sonya Hester (2020)
English, Southern University at Shreveport

Greg Loving (2020)
Philosophy, University of Cincinnati

Ex Officio from Assembly of State Conferences

Brian Turner, ex officio as Assembly of State Conferences Chair (2018)
Political Science, Randolph Macon College

Past-Chair (Vacant)

Ex Officio from AAUP-CBC

Howard Bunsis, Chair (2017)
Accounting, Eastern Michigan University

Past-Chair (Vacant)

Julie M. Schmid, staff