Academic Freedom and Tenure: Murray State University

The administration of Murray State University terminated the services of nine members of the faculty who had attained tenure under the provisions of the 1940 Statement of Principles on Academic Freedom and Tenure. These nine faculty members therefore should have been subjected to the termination of their services only for adequate cause and with requisite
academic due process. Adequate cause for terminating their services has not been demonstrated, and they have been denied the safeguards of due process. Additionally, the administration disregarded the appropriate role of the faculty in reaching decisions on faculty status.

The text of this report was written by the members of the investigating committee. In accordance with Association practice, the text was sent to the Association's Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure, to the teachers at whose request the investigation was conducted, to the administration of Murray State University, to the chapter president, and to other persons directly concerned in the report. In the light of the suggestions received, and with the editorial assistance of the Association's Washington Office staff, the report was published in the Winter 1975 issue of Academe.