Alert Top Message

The AAUP national office has moved! See our new address and other contact information here



2016 AAUP Updates

07.25.2016 | AAUP Leaders and Other Academics Decry Human Rights Abuses & Mass Dismissals in Turkey

Four hundred U.S. academics, including top AAUP leadership, members of the AAUP Council, and leaders of local AAUP chapters, sent a letter sent to President Barack Obama, Secretary of State John Kerry, and Secretary of Defense Ashton Carter condemning the current situation in Turkey and calling for their action.  

06.23.2016 | Affirmative Action Ruling

In Fisher v. University of Texas at Austin (Fisher II) the US Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of the University of Texas at Austin’s affirmative action program. The AAUP had joined an amicus brief in this case, supporting affirmative action.

06.21.2016 | Assembly of State Conferences Election Results

AAUP Assembly of State Conferences (ASC) elections were conducted on Saturday, June 18th, 2016 at the AAUP annual meeting in Washington, DC. State conference delegates elected the new ASC officers, who will serve two- or three-year terms ending in June 2018 or 2019.

06.18.2016 | Censure and Sanction Actions

Today, delegates to the 102nd Annual Meeting of the AAUP voted to place the College of Saint Rose and the University of Missouri (Columbia) on the AAUP’s list of administrations censured for violating standards of academic freedom and tenure. The annual meeting also voted to remove from the censure list two institutions: Metropolitan Community College in Missouri and Grove City College in Pennsylvania. Grove City College had been on the censure list since 1963, longer than any other institution. 

06.14.2016 | Deepa Kumar and Deanna Wood Receive Georgina M. Smith Award

Deepa Kumar, associate professor of media studies at Rutgers University, and Deanna Wood, associate professor of the University of New Hampshire library faculty, were selected as recipients of AAUP’s 2016 Georgina M. Smith Award. Professor Kumar has championed greater participation of junior faculty, and especially women of color, in union membership, and made gender and race issues central to bargaining. Professor Wood has advanced the art of collective bargaining, improved procedures for grievances, worked for gender equity and anti-discrimination in contract language, and gained a strong paid parental leave policy for faculty at her institution.

06.14.2016 | Annual Meeting Resolution and Proposal

The 102nd Annual Meeting of the AAUP met on June 18. Among other business, the assembly passed a resolution and a proposal. The resolution marks the fiftieth anniversary of the Statement on Government of Colleges and Universities and affirms the Association’s steadfast commitment to the principles and standards articulated therein. The proposal recommends to the AAUP Council the establishment of a committee to study and make recommendations on the topic of how colleges and universities can best address climate change.


06.13.2016 | Northern Illinois University Faculty Form Union

The new faculty union at Northern Illinois University is now certified. The United Faculty Alliance of Northern Illinois University (UFA), has broad support across campus and is made up of over 600 faculty members. They plan to bargain a first contract that will direct needed resources to the classroom.

06.09.2016 | Ryan Golden and Rebecca Schisler Receive AAUP Award for Excellence in Student Coverage of Higher Education

For their reporting in Mount St. Mary’s University’s the Mountain Echo, Ryan Golden and Rebecca Schisler are the recipients of this year’s Martin D. Snyder Award for Excellence in Student Coverage of Higher Education. Their entry was chosen for thoughtful and comprehensive reporting on an important issue.