2019 AAUP Updates

08.12.2019 | Government Must Tread Carefully When Monitoring Chinese Scholars

In response to reports that the FBI has advised some US universities to develop protocols for monitoring students and scholars from Chinese state-affiliated research institutions. the AAUP and eighteen other organizations have issued a statement concerning how this monitoring may violate academic freedom. 

08.01.2019 | AAUP Joins Higher Education Groups Supporting the College Student Hunger Act of 2019

The AAUP joined the American Council on Education and 32 other higher education groups in support of the College Student Hunger Act of 2019.

07.19.2019 | Letter to University of South Carolina Board on Its Presidential Search

The University of South Carolina board of trustees voted Friday to hire retired Army general Robert Caslen as the university's next president. On July 16, the AAUP sent a case letter to the USC board chair, the university's president and faculty senate officers, and the South Carolina conference of the AAUP about the presidential search.

07.09.2019 | Dangerous Times for Alaskans

The governor’s 41 percent reduction in state funding to Alaska’s public university system would mean closing campuses across the state and endangering the university’s accreditation. We call on the lawmakers of Alaska to override it.

07.08.2019 | Brief: Workplace Discrimination Based on LGBTQ Status is Unlawful

The AAUP has joined a US Supreme Court amicus brief arguing that workplace discrimination based on LGBTQ status is unlawful.

06.17.2019 | Organizational Changes to the AAUP

We are pleased to announce that the AAUP will be moving forward with organizational changes after affirmative votes at last week’s AAUP annual meeting and AAUP Collective Bargaining Congress regular meeting.

06.15.2019 | Two Institutions Added to AAUP’s Censure List, One to List of Sanctioned Institutions

Delegates to the 105th Annual Meeting of the AAUP voted to add St. Edward’s University (Texas) and Nunez Community College (Louisiana) to the AAUP’s list of administrations censured for failing to observe generally recognized principles of academic freedom and tenure. Delegates also voted to add Vermont Law School to the AAUP’s list of institutions sanctioned for serious departures from AAUP-supported standards of academic governance and to remove Idaho State University from the list.

05.23.2019 | AAUP 2019 Awards To Honor Outstanding Faculty Activists

At the AAUP's annual conference three people will be honored for their extraordinary dedication and accomplishments as faculty activists. The AAUP's Georgina M. Smith Award will go to Jennifer K. Kerns of Portland State University and Christine Blasey Ford of Palo Alto University. The AAUP-CBC Marilyn Sternberg Award will go to Noeleen McIlvenna of Wright State University. The AAUP's Outstanding Achievement Award will go to the AAUP-Wright State University chapter.