2017 AAUP Updates

03.29.2016 | Support for Graduate Employee Rights

The AAUP's Committee on Graduate and Professional Students commends graduate student workers at both Columbia University and the New School for their efforts to overturn the 2004 National Labor Relations Board decision that removed the right of graduate employees to collective bargaining. The right to organize and engage in collective action for mutual aid and benefit is a fundamental guarantee that all workers should enjoy. 

03.28.2016 | Statement Urges Caution Toward Academic Analytics

The AAUP Executive Committee issued a statement about institutions' use of private "metrics providers" such as Academic Analytics. While such services promise "objective" data about faculty research productivity, some of the firm's metrics lack any qualitative dimension. The statement urges colleges and universities to exercise extreme caution in deciding whether to subscribe to external sources of data and to avoid making decisions about tenure and promotion based primarily on such data. 

03.14.2016 | 2016 Election Ballots Mailed

Ballots for this year’s national Officer and Council election were mailed March 7 to eligible voting members. In order to be counted, ballots must be received by April 15.

03.11.2016 | Plymouth State Faculty Petition to Form Union

The Plymouth State University AAUP chapter announced this week that tenured and tenure-track faculty at the university filed a petition on Wednesday, March 9, with the New Hampshire Public Employee Labor Relations Board to form a collective bargaining chapter with the AAUP.  

03.10.2016 | Tenure Weakened in Wisconsin

The University of Wisconsin system Board of Regents has adopted a policy that provides weaker protections of tenure, and thus of academic freedom, than what has long been the norm in Wisconsin and than what is called for under AAUP standards. 

03.07.2016 | Conference Grants Available for Contingent Faculty

Thanks to a grant from the AAUP Foundation, a limited amount of scholarship money is available to defray 2016 AAUP Annual Conference costs for faculty members in contingent appointments. The application deadline is March 13, 2016. Preference will be given to accepted presenters for whom the conference costs would be prohibitive.

03.07.2016 | AAUP to Investigate University of Missouri's Dismissal of Melissa Click

Julie Schmid, executive director of the American Association of University Professors, today authorized a formal investigation in the case of professor Melissa Click at the University of Missouri. In February, the board of curators of the University of Missouri system summarily dismissed Click from the UM faculty. 

03.03.2016 | Letter to UM Discusses Next Steps in Melissa Click Case

AAUP Associate Secretary Hans-Joerg Tiede sent a letter to the chair of the MU board of curators and the interim chancellor expressing concern for the unresolved case of Melissa Click. It also discusses next steps, including a meeting with the AAUP executive director on whether to authorize a staff-recommended investigating committee.