Election Results

By Michael Ferguson

Wright State University professor Rudy Fichtenbaum has been elected to a second term as president of the AAUP. In a statement issued after the election, Fichtenbaum cited “the need for a bigger and stronger AAUP” and said, “The values and principles of academic freedom, shared governance, and economic security for all of the members of our profession are foundational, because they enable us to fight back against the corporate agenda and ensure that higher education serves the common good.”  

Also reelected were Henry Reichman (California State University, East Bay), first vice president; Susan Michalczyk (Boston College), second vice president; and Michele Ganon (Western Connecticut State University), secretary-treasurer. Complete election results, including results of contests for seats on the AAUP’s Council, are available here.