AAUP Foundation Welcomes New Board Members

By Edward J. Graham

The AAUP Foundation recently welcomed Joan Wallach Scott, Martin D. Snyder, and Paul Davis to its board of directors.

Joan Wallach Scott is professor emerita of history at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey, where she was the Harold F. Linder Professor of Social Science. Scott is an internationally recognized leader in the emerging field of critical history and has spent much of her career writing about the role of narrative in history, gender studies, and feminism. She is the author of several books, including Gender and the Politics of HistoryThe Politics of the Veil, and The Fantasy of Feminist History. Scott has received numerous awards from the American Historical Association for her work.

Martin D. Snyder was formerly senior associate general secretary of the AAUP. He also served as the director of the AAUP’s Department of External Relations and as the program director for academic freedom and professional standards. In November 2013, the AAUP established the Martin D. Snyder Award for Excellence in Student Coverage of Higher Education, which honors a student reporter for excellent coverage of higher education issues in student newspapers.

Paul Davis, the AAUP-CBC’s representative on the board, is a professor of behavioral and social sciences at Cincinnati State Technical and Community College. He currently serves as vice chair of the AAUP-CBC and as a member of the AAUP’s Committee on Community Colleges. He is a former president of his college’s AAUP chapter.

The AAUP Foundation is organized to fund the charitable and educational purposes of the AAUP, including support of academic freedom and the quality of higher education in a free and democratic society. Recent grants have enabled faculty on contingent appointments to attend a conference, supported the AAUP’s Journal of Academic Freedom, and provided assistance to Steven Salaita, who has been without a salary while contesting his dismissal from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign on academic freedom grounds.