A Warm Welcome to New and Reestablished AAUP Chapters

By Mariah Quinn

Chapters are the fundamental unit of the AAUP and carry out our mission on the campus level. In 2023, we welcomed many new and reestablished chapters.

New advocacy chapters were formed at Albertus Magnus College, Bethany College (Kansas), Butler University, Carthage College, Kansas City Art Institute, Kenyon College, Lewis & Clark College, Missouri State University, Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine, Ohio State University at Newark, Pacific University, Rio Grande College/ Sul Ross State University, Roanoke College, Spartanburg Community College, Swarthmore College, the University of Lynchburg, the University of Texas at Austin, and the University of Texas at San Antonio. Faculty reestablished AAUP advocacy chapters at American University, Bucknell University, Duke University, Providence College, South Carolina State University, Susquehanna University, and Yeshiva University.

New AAUP-AFT collective bargaining chapter locals were rec­ognized this year at Howard and Frederick Community Colleges in Maryland, Illinois State University, and Miami University of Ohio; members of the new chapters are engaging with their administrations in bargaining their first contracts, with support from AAUP national staff, AFT national staff, and AFT state organizations.