Rudy Fichtenbaum Elected AAUP President

Rudy Fichtenbaum, professor of economics at Wright State University, has been elected AAUP president. Fichtenbaum has authored more than forty-five articles and book chapters on topics such as discrimination, income distribution, and the impact of unions on wages and benefits. He is a strong faculty unionist who helped lead the fight against Ohio SB 5, which would have stripped public-sector workers of union rights. He has served in leadership positions within the state and national AAUP, including as president of the Ohio AAUP conference, on the national Council, and in the AAUP Collective Bargaining Congress.

Other newly elected officers of the AAUP are Hank Reichman (California State University, East Bay), first vice president; Susan Michalczyk (Boston College), second vice president; and Michele Ganon (Western Connecticut State University), secretary-treasurer. Officer terms begin in June, at the end of the AAUP annual meeting, and run for two years.

Donna Potts of Kansas State University was elected chair of the Assembly of State Conferences.

Council positions were also filled in this month’s election. Complete results are available on the AAUP website at