

Record of the Council November 23 and 24, 2013

The Council of the Association met November 23 and 24, 2013, at the Mayflower Renaissance Hotel in Washington, DC. President Rudy H. Fichtenbaum presided. Participating were members of Council (with the exception of A. Lee Fritschler, Ann McGlashan, and Nancy Mansberger), parliamentarian Kerry Grant, general counsel Theresa Chmara, and executive director Julie M. Schmid. Also attending were Vickie McCormick of Calibre CPA Group and members of the AAUP staff. President Fichtenbaum called the meeting to order on November 23, 2013, and introduced parliamentarian Kerry Grant, new council members, and new AAUP staff. The Council adopted its agenda and approved the minutes of prior meetings.

Report of the Secretary-Treasurer

On November 23, secretary-treasurer Michele Ganon reviewed the Association's 2013 financials and presented the proposed 2014 budget. On November 24, the Council approved the 2014 budget.

Strategic Planning

Secretary-treasurer Ganon reported on the Executive Committee's strategic planning process. The Council revised the AAUP mission statement to read:

The mission of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is to advance academic freedom and shared governance; to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education; to promote the economic security of faculty, academic professionals, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and all those engaged in teaching and research in higher education; to help the higher education community organize to make our goals a reality; and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. Founded in 1915, the AAUP has helped to shape American higher education by developing the standards and procedures that maintain quality in education and academic freedom in this country's colleges and universities.

President Fichtenbaum thanked Professor Ganon for leading the Executive Committee in the strategic planning process.

Report on Eleventh Edition of the "Redbook"

Hans-Joerg Tiede, editor of the forthcoming eleventh edition of the AAUP's *Policy Documents and Reports* (the "Redbook"), reported that the book is scheduled to be published to coincide with the AAUP's centennial and

presented the proposed contents, which the Council approved. President Fichtenbaum thanked Professor Tiede for his work.

Report of Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure

Henry Reichman, chair of Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure, presented the committee's report to the Council. He reported that the Northeastern Illinois University administration responded to the committee's draft investigating report, which will be published for comment on the AAUP website on December 17, 2013. On recommendations from the Committee, the Council adopted as AAUP policy a revised version of the statement *Academic Freedom and Electronic Communications* and a new *Statement on Intellectual Property*.

Renewal of Cost Sharing Agreement

The Council renewed the cost sharing agreement between the AAUP, AAUP-CBC, and AAUP Foundation for a one-year term.

Report of the Department of Chapter and Conference Services

Christopher Simeone, director of the AAUP's new Department of Chapter and Conference Services, reported on the department's goals, proposed services, and pilot services under development.

Report of the Nominating Committee

Nominating Committee chair Linda L. Carroll reported on the status of nominations for AAUP national elections and called upon Council members to seek further nominations.

Report on 2014 Elections

Gregory F. Scholtz, staff to the Elections Committee, reported on key dates for 2014 national AAUP elections.

Election of the Election Appeals Committee

The Council elected Nancy McKenney, Philip Cole, Jeff Butts, and Ashlee Brand as an alternate, to the Election Appeals Committee.

Report of the AAUP Foundation

AAUP Foundation chair Susan Michalczyk reported on the AAUP Foundation's efforts in fundraising and developing a centennial campaign. Council members were reminded of the Foundation's ongoing year-end fundraising appeal. Professor Michalczyk also called on the Council to respond to her letter requesting their ideas, assistance, and participation with nationwide centennial celebration events.

Resolution Deferring Payment from the AAUP Foundation

The Council approved a resolution deferring the payment of certain debts owed to the Association by the AAUP Foundation, by which the Foundation will make payments on the debt over a period of five years without interest.

Recommendation to Annual Meeting on Dues Increase for "Part-Time Faculty and Graduate Student" Dues Category for New Collective Bargaining Chapters

On the recommendation of the Executive Committee, the Council recommended to the One Hundredth Annual Meeting an annual dues increase for the "part-time faculty and graduate student" dues category to \$75.00 for new collective bargaining chapters.

Retirement of AAUP Staff

President Fichtenbaum announced the retirement of senior associate general secretary Martin D. Snyder and read aloud a resolution honoring his leadership and service to the AAUP and establishing the Martin D. Snyder Award for Excellence in Student Coverage of Higher Education, "which shall be awarded to a student journalist for outstanding coverage of higher education exhibiting analytical and investigative reporting." President Fichtenbaum led the Council in a standing ovation. President Fichtenbaum also announced the retirement of staff member Susan Smee, read aloud a resolution honoring her, and led the Council in a round of applause of appreciation for her many years of "exemplary service."

Report on State Conference Pilot Projects

President Fichtenbaum reported on the status of state conference pilot projects in Nevada and Oregon, and the Council discussed funding for the Oregon project.

Strategies for Improving Conditions for Faculty in Contingent Appointments

The Council discussed strategies to promote the adoption of AAUP policies on tenure, due process, and contingency into faculty handbooks and collective bargaining agreements. President Fichtenbaum called upon

Council members to volunteer for committees, as well as recommend to him individuals for appointment to committees, and reiterated the need for committees to focus on the vital work of the Association.