

# Record of the Council June 14 and 16, 2013

The Council of the Association met on June 14 and 16, 2013, in conjunction with the Association's Annual Conference on the State of Higher Education and the Ninety-Ninth Annual Meeting, at the Mayflower Renaissance Hotel in Washington, DC. President Rudy H. Fichtenbaum presided. Participating were members of Council (with the exception of Assembly of State Conferences chair Donna L. Potts, Collective Bargaining Congress past chair Jeff Halpern, Robert S. Boikess, and Phillip Cole), parliamentarian Kerry Grant, general counsel Theresa Chmara, and senior associate general secretary Martin D. Snyder. Also attending were Council members-elect and members of the AAUP staff. President Fichtenbaum called the meeting to order on June 14, 2013, and introduced parliamentarian Kerry Grant and Council members-elect. The Council adopted its agenda and approved the minutes of prior meetings.

## **Report of Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure**

Henry Reichman, chair of the Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure, presented the committee's report to Council. He referred to Committee A's statements recommending to the Ninety-Ninth Annual Meeting that it place National Louis University and Southern University Baton Rouge on the Association's list of censured administrations and that it remove St. Bonaventure University and Our Lady of Holy Cross College from the list. The Council concurred in the four recommendations. Reichman reported on developments at the University of Northern Iowa subsequent to the Committee A investigation. The committee will continue to monitor developments and report next year on any recommendation for censure. On the committee's recommendations, the Council adopted a new policy statement, *The Role of Faculty in Conditions of Financial Exigency*, and a revised version of *Recommended Institutional Recommendations on Academic Freedom and Tenure*.

#### **Report of the Committee on College and University Governance**

Larry Gerber, chair of the Committee on College and University Governance, reported on that committee's activities. He highlighted the report of an investigation into events at the University of Virginia and emphasized the importance of continuing to conduct governance investigations in the future. Gerber reported on the committee's work on three policy statements: *The Inclusion of Faculty Members Holding Contingent Appointments*, which was prepared by a joint subcommittee of the Association's Committee on Contingency and the Profession and the Governance Committee and was adopted as policy by the Council in November 2012; *Confidentiality and Faculty Representation in Academic Governance*, which was approved by the Governance

Committee for publication in the 2013 Bulletin; and Faculty Communication with Governing Boards: Best Practices, which was approved for publication for comment in May 2013. The committee also organized the third annual Shared Governance Conference and Workshops in October 2012; and Professor Gerber reiterated the importance of conducting this conference in future years. The Council was informed that the Executive Committee had referred the matter of scheduling future governance conferences to the Committee on College and University Governance to review and make recommendations at the August 2013 Executive Committee meeting. President Fichtenbaum, on behalf of the Association, thanked Larry Gerber for his service on the Committee, particularly as chair, and led the Council in a round of applause.

#### **Report of the Committee on Membership**

Ernst Benjamin, chair of the Committee on Membership, presented the committee's report. President Rudy Fichtenbaum reported that the Membership Committee had presented its "Recommendations to Adopt National Conference Dues Policies" to the Executive Committee which made changes recommended by the AAUP-CBC executive committee, and that subsequently the executive committee of the Assembly of State Conferences asked to review and discuss the proposal at its next meeting before further action is taken. The Council postponed discussion of the proposal to give the ASC executive committee time to review the proposal. On recommendation of the Membership Committee, the Council modified the state conference 2014 dues rates (collective bargaining chapters only), increased the Ohio AAUP conference dues to \$45, and reauthorized the comprehensive state conference 2014 dues rates (collective bargaining chapters only), all subject to ratification by the AAUP annual meeting. The Council also continued for an additional year the arrangement adopted by the Ninety-Sixth Annual Meeting in 2010 for payment of state conference and chapter integrated dues.

#### **Report of the Secretary-Treasurer**

Secretary-Treasurer Michele Ganon reported on the Association's 2012 financial performance and presented a draft of the 2012 audit report. Ganon reported that the auditors had issued an unqualified opinion.

#### **Report on Restructuring Implementation and Finances**

Calibre CPA Group consultant Vickie McCormick reported on the implementation of the AAUP's restructuring into three related entities, which was effective January 1, 2013. On McCormick's recommendation, the Council approved a resolution transferring certain assets and liabilities from the AAUP Foundation to the Association. The Council also approved funding for the 2013 Summer Institute.

#### **Election to Fill Council Vacancies**

President Rudy Fichtenbaum reported three vacancies on the Council due to the resignations of Kim Emery (at-large), Luis Martin-Cabrera (District I), and Susan Moeller (District III). In a secret ballot election, the Council elected Daniel Murphy (at-large), Angela Brommel (District I), and Mehmet Yaya (District III) to serve the remainder of those terms.

## **Election of the 2013 Nominating Committee**

The Council elected Ann McGlashan, Nancy McKenney, and Linda Carroll to the 2013 Nominating Committee.

## Report of the Election Committee and Election of the 2014 Election Committee

Election Committee chair and AAUP general counsel Theresa Chmara reported that the committee received no formal complaints regarding the 2013 election. Chmara presented the committee's recommendations for revisions to the AAUP Election Rules to clarify the process for submitting an election protest, and the Council amended the Election Rules accordingly. The Council elected Jacqueline Aranté to the 2014 Election Committee.

## **Report of the AAUP Foundation**

AAUP Foundation chair Susan Michalczyk reported on the activities of the AAUP Foundation, including the election of two new public directors: Arthur Caplan, professor of bioethics and director of the division of medical ethics at NYU Langone Medical Center, and Heidi Oshin, executive vice-president of Menemsha Films. The board of directors' most recent meeting focused on fundraising and the development of a fundraising plan.

# **Oregon Conference Pilot Project Proposal**

Northwest regional coordinator Scott Clifthorne presented a proposal in which the Association would assist the Oregon AAUP conference with funding for the hiring of a full-time organizer on a progressively decreasing schedule. The Council approved creating a joint committee between the AAUP and the AAUP-CBC to review the proposal and make recommendations for funding.

# **Recognition of Outgoing Council Members**

President Fichtenbaum, on behalf of the Association, thanked outgoing Council members Jacqueline Aranté, Granville Ganter, Jeff Halpern, and Joel Russell for their service on the Council and led the Council in a round of applause.