AAUP Officers and Council, 2015–16

AAUP officers are ex officio members of the Council, as are the chair and past chair of the Assembly of State Conferences and the chair and past chair of the AAUP-CBC.

A list of Association officers, general counsel, and Council members follows, with dates of term expiration noted at the end of each entry. An asterisk denotes a Council member serving in his or her second term or an officer serving in his or her fourth term. The AAUP Constitution provides that the president and vice presidents shall be eligible for election to their respective offices for no more than four consecutive full terms and directly-elected members of council for no more than two consecutive full terms. The distribution of states in each district is based on the redistricting plan approved by the Council on June 9, 2006.

Officers

President

Rudy H. Fichtenbaum (Economics), Wright State University, 2016

First Vice President

Henry Reichman (History), California State University, East Bay, 2016

Second Vice President

Susan Michalczyk (Arts and Sciences Honors Program), Boston College, 2016

Secretary-Treasurer

Michele Ganon (Accounting), Western Connecticut State University, 2016

General Counsel

Risa L. Lieberwitz (Law), Cornell University, 2016

Council Members

District I (Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah)

Chris Nagel (Philosophy), California State University, Stanislaus, 2016

Jonathan Rees (History), Colorado State University– Pueblo, 2018 District II (Alaska, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming)

Ann McGlashan (German), Baylor University, 2016 *Philip Cole (Physics), Idaho State University, 2018

District III (Michigan)

Lisa Minnick (English), Western Michigan University, 2016

Mehmet Yaya (Economics), Eastern Michigan University, 2018

District IV (Arkansas, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Missouri, Tennessee, Virginia)

Hans-Joerg Tiede (Computer Science), Illinois Wesleyan University, 2016

*Nancy J. McKenney (Library), Eastern Kentucky University, 2018

District V (Alabama, Canada, Florida, Foreign, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Virgin Islands, West Virginia)

*Linda L. Carroll (Italian), Tulane University, 2016 Kevin L. Cope (English and Comparative Literature), Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, 2018

District VI (Ohio)

Ashlee Brand (English), Cuyahoga Community College, 2016

*Linda Rouillard (French), University of Toledo, 2018

District VII (New Jersey)

*Robert S. Boikess (Chemistry), Rutgers University, 2016

Zoran Gajic (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Rutgers University, 2018

District VIII (New York)

Sally Dear-Healey (Sociology and Anthropology), State University of New York College at Cortland, 2016

*Anne Friedman (Linguistics and Academic Literacy), Manhattan Community College, City University of New York, 2018

District IX (Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont)

Julian Madison (History), Southern Connecticut State University, 2016

Irene T. Mulvey (Mathematics), Fairfield University, 2018

District X (Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island)

*Charles A. Baker (French and Film), College of the Holy Cross, 2016

*Maria T. Bacigalupo (Administration, Planning, and Social Policy), Curry College, 2018

At-Large Delegates

Natalio "Nathan" Avani (Secondary Education), San Francisco State University, 2016

*Jane L. Buck (Psychology), Delaware State University, 2016

Dan O'Connor (Library and Information Science), Rutgers University, 2016

*Deanna D. Wood (Library), University of New Hampshire, 2016

Jacqueline Aranté (English), Portland State University, 2018

Richard Gomes (ESL), Rutgers University, 2018 Cynthia Klekar (English), Western Michigan University, 2018

Diana I. Rios (Communication and El Instituto), University of Connecticut, 2018

Ex Officio from Assembly of State Conferences

Hans-Joerg Tiede (Computer Science), Illinois Wesleyan University, chair, 2018 Vacant, past chair

Ex Officio from AAUP-CBC

Howard Bunsis (Accounting), Eastern Michigan University, chair, 2017 Vacant, past chair

Julie M. Schmid, staff ■