AAUP Officers and Council, 2018–19

AAUP officers are ex officio members of the Council, as are the chair and past chair of the Assembly of State Conferences and the chair and past chair of the AAUP-CBC.

A list of Association officers, general counsel, and Council members follows, with dates of term expiration noted at the end of each entry. The AAUP Constitution stipulates that the president and vice presidents are eligible for election to their respective offices for no more than four consecutive full terms and directly elected members of the Council are eligible for no more than two consecutive full terms. An asterisk denotes an individual who is ineligible to run again for another consecutive term in the same office. The distribution of states in each district is based on the redistricting plan approved by the Council on June 17, 2016. Council members whose districts have changed will continue to serve in the district in which they were elected until the completion of their current terms.

Officers

President

Rudy H. Fichtenbaum (Economics), Wright State University, 2020

First Vice President

Brooks Ellwood (Geology and Geophysics), Louisiana State University, 2020

Second Vice President

Daniel Henrich (Communications), Edward Waters College, 2020

Secretary-Treasurer

Michele Ganon (Accounting), Western Connecticut State University, 2020

General Counsel

Risa L. Lieberwitz (Law), Cornell University, 2020

Council Members

District I (Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah)

*Chris Nagel (Philosophy), California State University–Stanislaus, 2020

Alexander Zukas (History), National University, 2022

District II (Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, Wyoming)

Friedrich Schuler (History), Portland State University, 2020

*Jonathan Rees (History), Colorado State University— Pueblo, 2022

District III (Michigan)

*Lisa C. Minnick (English), Western Michigan University, 2020

Charles J. Parrish (Political Science), Wayne State University, 2022

District IV (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin)

Kathryn Kuhn (Sociology), Saint Louis University, 2020

Loren Glass (English), University of Iowa, 2022

District V (Alabama, Arkansas, Canada, District of Columbia, Florida, Foreign, Georgia, Guam, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virgin Islands, Virginia, West Virginia)

Leslie Bary (Spanish and Latin American Studies), University of Louisiana, Lafayette, 2020 Monica Black (History), University of Tennessee, 2022

District VI (Ohio)

Julie McLaughlin (Humanities), Cincinnati StateTechnical and Community College, 2020Huey-Li Li (Educational Philosophy), University of Akron, 2022

District VII (New Jersey)

David Hughes (Anthropology), Rutgers University, 2020

*Zoran Gajic (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Rutgers University, 2022

District VIII (New York)

*Sally Dear-Healey (Sociology and Anthropology), State University of New York–Cortland, 2020 James Davis (English and American Studies), Brooklyn College, City University of New York, 2022

District IX (Connecticut)

Mary Ann Mahony (History), Central Connecticut University, 2020

*Irene Mulvey (Mathematics), Fairfield University, 2022

District X (Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont)

*Michael DeCesare (Sociology), Merrimack College, 2020

Carolyn Betensky (English), University of Rhode Island, 2022

At-Large Delegates

*Natalio "Nathan" Avani (Secondary Education), San Francisco State University, 2020

John Castella (Labor Studies), Rutgers University, 2020

Sonya Hester (English), Southern University at Shreveport, 2020

Greg Loving (Philosophy), University of Cincinnati, 2020

Linda Carroll (Italian), Tulane University, 2022 Patricia Navarra (Irish Studies), Hofstra University, 2022

*Diana I. Rios (Communication and El Instituto), University of Connecticut, 2022

David Sanders (Biological Sciences), Purdue University, 2022

Ex Officio from Assembly of State Conferences

Brian Turner (Political Science), Randolph-Macon College, chair, 2020 Vacant, past chair

Ex Officio from AAUP-CBC

Paul Davis (Behavioral and Social Sciences), Cincinnati State Technical and Community College, chair, 2019 Howard Bunsis (Accounting), Eastern Michigan University, past chair

Julie M. Schmid, staff ■