# AAUP Officers and Council, 2017–18

AAUP officers are ex officio members of the Council, as are the chair and past chair of the Assembly of State Conferences and the chair and past chair of the AAUP-CBC.

A list of Association officers, general counsel, and Council members follows, with dates of term expiration noted at the end of each entry. The AAUP Constitution stipulates that the president and vice presidents are eligible for election to their respective offices for no more than four consecutive full terms and directly elected members of the Council are eligible for no more than two consecutive full terms. An asterisk denotes an individual who is ineligible to run again for another consecutive term in the same office. The distribution of states in each district is based on the redistricting plan approved by the Council on June 9, 2006.

#### **Officers**

#### President

Rudy H. Fichtenbaum (Economics), Wright State University, 2018

#### First Vice President

Henry Reichman (History), California State University, East Bay, 2018

### **Second Vice President**

Caprice Lawless (English), Front Range Community College, 2018

## Secretary-Treasurer

Michele Ganon (Accounting), Western Connecticut State University, 2018

#### **General Counsel**

Risa L. Lieberwitz (Law), Cornell University, 2018

#### **Council Members**

District I (Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah)

Jonathan Rees (History), Colorado State University— Pueblo, 2018

\*Chris Nagel (Philosophy), California State University, Stanislaus, 2020 District II (Alaska, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming)

\*Philip Cole (Physics), Idaho State University, 2018 Friedrich Schuler (History), Portland State University, 2020

#### District III (Michigan)

Mehmet Yaya (Economics), Eastern Michigan University, 2018

\*Lisa C. Minnick (English), Western Michigan University, 2020

District IV (Arkansas, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Missouri, Tennessee, Virginia)

\*Nancy McKenney (Library), Eastern Kentucky University, 2018

Kathryn Kuhn (Sociology), Saint Louis University, 2020

District V (Alabama, Canada, Florida, Foreign, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Virgin Islands, West Virginia)

Kevin Cope (English and Comparative Literature), Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, 2018 Leslie Bary (Spanish and Latin American Studies), University of Louisiana, Lafayette, 2020

#### District VI (Ohio)

\*Linda Rouillard (French), University of Toledo, 2018 Julie McLaughlin (Humanities), Cincinnati State Technical and Community College, 2020<sup>1</sup>

## District VII (New Jersey)

Zoran Gajic (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Rutgers University, 2018

David Hughes (Anthropology), Rutgers University, 2020

# District VIII (New York)

- \*Anne Friedman (Linguistics and Academic Literacy), Manhattan Community College, City University of New York, 2018
- \*Sally Dear-Healey (Sociology and Anthropology), State University of New York College at Cortland, 2020

# District IX (Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont) Irene Mulvey (Mathematics), Fairfield University, 2018

\*Julian Madison (History), Southern Connecticut University, 2020

# District X (Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island)

- \*Maria T. Bacigalupo (Administration, Planning, and Social Policy), Curry College, 2018
- \*Michael DeCesare (Sociology), Merrimack College, 2020

# **At-Large Delegates**

Jacqueline Aranté (English), Portland State University, 2018

James Klein (History), Del Mar College, 2018<sup>2</sup> Cynthia Klekar (English), Western Michigan University, 2018

Diana I. Rios (Communication and El Instituto), University of Connecticut, 2018

\*Natalio "Nathan" Avani (Secondary Education), San Francisco State University, 2020

John Castella (Labor Studies), Rutgers University, 2020

Sonya Hester (English), Southern University at Shreveport, 2020

Greg Loving (Philosophy), University of Cincinnati, 2020

# Ex Officio from Assembly of State Conferences

Brian Turner (Political Science), Randolph Macon College, chair, 2018 Vacant, past chair

#### **Ex Officio from AAUP-CBC**

Paul Davis (Behavioral and Social Sciences), Cincinnati State Technical and Community College, chair, 2019

Howard Bunsis (Accounting), Eastern Michigan University, past chair

Julie M. Schmid, staff ■

#### **Notes**

- 1. Julie McLaughlin was elected by the Council in April 2017 to fill a vacant seat in District VI.
- 2. James Klein was elected by the Council in April 2017 to fill a vacant at-large seat.