# AAUP Officers and Council, 2020–21

AAUP officers are ex officio members of the Council. A list of Association officers, general counsel, and Council members, as of January 1, 2021, follows, with dates of term expiration noted at the end of each entry. An asterisk denotes an individual who is ineligible to run again for another consecutive term in the same office. The distribution of states in each district is based on the redistricting plan approved by the Council on June 17, 2016. Council members whose districts have changed will continue to serve in the district in which they were elected until the completion of their current terms.

#### **Officers**

#### President

Irene Mulvey (Mathematics), Fairfield University, 2024

#### Vice President

Paul Davis (History and American Government), Cincinnati State Technical and Community College, 2024

#### Secretary-Treasurer

Christopher Sinclair (Mathematics), University of Oregon, 2024

#### **Past President**

Rudy H. Fichtenbaum (Economics), Wright State University, 2022

#### **General Counsel**

Risa L. Lieberwitz (Law), Cornell University, 2022

#### **Council Members**

District I (Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah)

Alexander Zukas (History), National University, 2022

District II (Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, Wyoming)

\*Jonathan Rees (History), Colorado State University– Pueblo, 2022

#### District III (Michigan)

Charles J. Parrish (Political Science), Wayne State University, 2022

## District IV (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin)

Loren Glass (English), University of Iowa, 2022

District V (Alabama, Arkansas, Canada, District of Columbia, Florida, Foreign, Georgia, Guam, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virgin Islands, Virginia, West Virginia)

Monica Black (History), University of Tennessee, 2022

#### District VI (Ohio)

Huey-Li Li (Educational Philosophy), University of Akron, 2022

#### District VII (New Jersey)

\*Zoran Gajic (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Rutgers University, 2022

#### District VIII (New York)

James Davis (English and American Studies), Brooklyn College, City University of New York, 2022

### District X (Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont)

Carolyn Betensky (English), University of Rhode Island, 2022

#### **At-Large Members**

Linda Carroll (Italian), Tulane University, 2022
Nivedita Majumdar (English), John Jay College, 2024
Patricia Navarra (English), Hofstra University, 2022
Glinda Rawls (Counselor Education), Western
Michigan University, 2024
\*Diana I. Rios (Communication/El Instituto),
University of Connecticut, 2022
David Sanders (Biological Sciences), Purdue University, 2022

Julie M. Schmid, staff ■