2020 Biennial Meeting Postponed

The AAUP's 2020 biennial meeting, originally scheduled for June as part of the 2020 AAUP Conference and Biennial Meeting, was postponed because of the COVID-19 pandemic and has been rescheduled for November 22, 2020. Although the biennial meeting did not take place in June, the AAUP announced recipients of its 2020 awards in absentia on May 20, 2020. In lieu of acceptance speeches, the AAUP invited award recipients to publish posts on the *Academe Blog*.

Georgina M. Smith Award

Established in 1979 to honor the memory of a Rutgers University professor who was a committed feminist, an AAUP leader, and a strong supporter of her faculty union, the Georgina M. Smith award is presented "to a person who has provided exceptional leadership in the past year in improving the status of academic women or in advancing collective bargaining and through that work has improved the profession in general." This year the award was presented to Rabab Ibrahim Abdulhadi of San Francisco State University, Catherine Moran of the University of New Hampshire, and Anne Sisson Runyan of the University of Cincinnati.

The award for Rabab Ibrahim Abdulhadi recognized her "courage, persistence, political foresight, and concern for human rights, including union organizing, gender and sexual justice, in her scholarship, teaching, public advocacy, and collaboration with a diverse group of academic, labor, and community organizations." The award committee highlighted her commitment to collaborative global scholarship and her leadership as director of the Arab and Muslim Ethnicities and Diasporas Studies Program, where she "brings together scholars, activists, academics, and organizers to create justice-centered knowledge, build broad-based coalitions, and advance the agenda for social change in Palestine, the United States, and internationally" through work that "transcends the division between

scholarship and activism that encumbers traditional university life."

The award for Catherine Moran recognized the courage evident in her work as a faculty mentor, union negotiator, and leader as a founder of the University of New Hampshire Lecturers United—AAUP, the non-tenure-track faculty union. The award committee noted that "although faculty who serve on contingent appointments like hers are among the most economically and politically vulnerable members of the academic profession, Moran has persevered in her successful teaching and organizing endeavors."

The award for Anne Sisson Runyan recognized her "distinguished scholarly and activist career" and her "dedication to improving the status of faculty in general and women in particular through her local and national AAUP service." The award committee commended her accomplishments as chair of the AAUP's Committee on Women in the Academic Profession (now the Committee on Gender and Sexuality in the Academic Profession), particularly on issues involving Title IX and intersectionality, and noted the widely recognized impact of her scholarship on gender and global political economy.

Marilyn Sternberg Award

The Marilyn Sternberg Award recognizes AAUP members who "demonstrate concern for human rights, courage, persistence, political foresight, imagination, and collective bargaining skills." Deepa Kumar of Rutgers University, recent past-president of Rutgers AAUP-AFT, is the recipient of this year's Sternberg Award. The award committee commended Professor Kumar for her "key role in developing and leading a contract campaign that culminated in a strike vote and a groundbreaking contract for Rutgers faculty" and observed that "she brought tremendous vision and courage to the work, making gender and race issues central to the campaign, and pursuing a goal of equity, security, and dignity for all."

Outstanding Achievement Award

The AAUP established the Outstanding Achievement Award to recognize chapter- or conference-level work to advance academic freedom or shared governance, promote the economic security of academics, help the higher education community organize, or ensure higher education's contribution to the common good. Becky Hawbaker of the University of Northern Iowa is the recipient of the AAUP's 2020 Outstanding Achievement Award. The award committee observed that as president of United Faculty-AAUP at UNI. Hawbaker "led her chapter through a time of significant change," including considerable growth in members and recertification. The committee noted that "she served as a critical member of the Faculty Handbook Committee and added language from the chapter's contract into the handbook" and that "her chapter, working alongside other faculty and campus administration leaders, has extended voting rights to most of the contingent faculty and created a career ladder for contingent faculty."

Resolution Honoring Fifty-Year Members

The AAUP's Council, which met remotely on June 18 and 19, passed the following resolution honoring fifty-year members of the AAUP:

Whereas the mission of the American Association of University Professors is "to advance academic freedom and shared governance; to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education; to promote the economic security of faculty, academic professionals, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and all those engaged in teaching and research in higher education; to help the higher education community organize to make our goals a reality; and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good";

Whereas, as a membership organization, the AAUP most effectively achieves its mission through chapters with engaged, active members; and

Whereas one of the AAUP's organizational strengths is the commitment of AAUP members to its mission and their shared commitment to higher education and the common good, a commitment that often continues after retirement from their institutions;

Resolved, that the AAUP's national Council 1. honors the following fifty-year members for

their steadfast commitment to the Association and the profession; and

2. directs that this resolution, along with the names of these members, be published in the *Bulletin of the AAUP* and that a copy be sent to these members along with a certificate acknowledging their commitment and contribution to the Association.

Fifty-Year AAUP Members

David Arlington	Clyde W. Ebenreck	Mark R. Killingsworth	Ronald C. Rosenberg
University of Oregon	Prince George's Community College	Rutgers University	Michigan State University
Miriam Balmuth		Kenneth D. Lawrence	Lawrence C. Schneider
CUNY City College of	Frank K. Fair	New Jersey Institute of	Biomedical and Health
New York	Sam Houston State University	Technology	Sciences of New Jersey
Lester Baltimore		Walter W. McMahon	Richard H. Senter
Adelphi University	Robert B. Glassman	University of Illinois at	Central Michigan
	Lake Forest College	Urbana-Champaign	University
Jack Bass			
Michigan State University	Kerry E. Grant	Thomas D. Morin	Bruce S. Vanderporten
	Southern Connecticut	University of Rhode Island	Loyola University Chicago
Benjamin R. Beede	State University		
Rutgers University		Robert S. Nelson	Harold F. Williamson
	Jack E. Graver	University of Houston	University of Illinois at
Norman P. Boyer	Syracuse University		Urbana-Champaign
Saint Xavier University		Philip A. Pecorino	
	Gladys W. Gruenberg	CUNY Queensborough	
Thomas F. Coffey Creighton University	Saint Louis University	Community College	
	Jonathan E. Hill	Constance H. Poster	
Thomas F. Cloonan Fordham University	Saint Olaf College	University of West Georgia	
	Martin H. Israel	Sylvie M. Romanowski	
Joel L. Cunningham The University of the South	Washington University in St. Louis	Northwestern University	