Nominations Invited

Update: The nomination period has closed and the Nominating Committee has issued its report.

At a time when professors everywhere and the profession itself are increasingly under attack the need to have engaged members has never been greater. If you’ve thought of running for an AAUP national office or for the Council, there has never been a better time. By nominating a colleague, or yourself, you could make a difference. To become a candidate one only needs to be nominated by six active members of the AAUP.  

2012 AAUP National Officer And Council Election Information

The National Offices up for election are:


1st Vice President
2nd Vice President

There will also be an election in each of the ten AAUP Council Districts and for three national at-large seats.

Council Districts:
I Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah
II Alaska, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma,   Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin. Wyoming
III Michigan
IV Arkansas, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Missouri, Tennessee, Virginia
V Alabama, Canada, Florida, Foreign, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, the Virgin Islands, West Virginia
VI Ohio
VII New Jersey
VIII New York
IX Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont
X Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island
At Large There are also three at-large Council positions available.


To be a candidate for either a National Office or the Council one must be an Active Member of AAUP and must obtain the signature of any six Active Members of AAUP, one of which can be the candidate’s own signature. According to the AAUP Constitution, any person who holds a professional position of teacher, researcher, or related professional appointment, excluding administrators but including any member of an AAUP-represented bargaining unit in a college, university, or professional school of similar grade accredited in the United States or Canada, may be admitted to active membership in the Association.

The Nominating Committee recommends that candidates obtain more than six signatures, to ensure that the minimum number of active members is met. The Committee further recommends that candidates send in their signatures as soon as possible so that the process of certifying the membership status of nominators can begin. In cases where the nominator is not an active member, the candidate will be informed and will be allowed to find new nominators before the nominations deadline of Thursday, December 15, 2011. Nominating papers can be sent by email or snail mail. The Committee requests that whenever possible, the names and signature of a candidate’s nominators be sent at the same time. Nominations can be sent by email to the members of the Nominating Committee at ( or to Nseabasi Ufot. Candidates can also use our printer-friendly nomination form to submit nominations by snail mail to Nseabasi Ufot, Nominating Committee, AAUP, 1133 Nineteenth St., NW, Suite 200, Washington, DC, 20036-3655.

The Nominating Committee
Charles Baker (French and Film), College of the Holy Cross, chair

Jeanette Jeneault (Writing), Syracuse University

Judith Johnston  (English), Rider University

Jason Jones (English), Central Connecticut State University

Charles Smith(Pharmacology), University of Michigan