Henry T. Yost Congressional Recognition Award

This award was discontinued as part of a 2016 restructuring of the AAUP's awards program.


This award was created in memory of Henry (Tom) Yost, who served as the chair of the national AAUP’s Committee on Government Relations for a number of years and then as president of the Association from 1980–81. The award was given to a member of the United States House of Representatives or Senate in recognition of outstanding leadership in higher education, preferably during, but not limited to, the previous year.


Recipients of the Congressional Recognition Award

1980 Representative Jack Brooks (D – TX)
Senator Abraham Ribicoff (D – CT)
1981 Representative Carl Perkins (D – KY)
1982 Representative Paul Simon (D – IL)
1983 Representative William Ford (D – MI)
Senator Lowell P. Weicker, Jr. (R – CT)
1984 Representative Jim Wright (D – TX)
Senator Robert T. Stafford (R – VT)
1985 Representative Silvio O. Conte (R – MA)
Senator Thomas F. Eagleton (D – MO)
1986 Representative Augustus F. Hawkins (D – CA)
Senator Daniel P. Moyniham (D – NY)
1988 Representative William Gray (D – PA)
Senator Nancy Landon Kassebaum (R – KS)
1989 Representative Patricia Schroeder (D – CO)
Senator Terry Sanford (D – NC)

Representative William Natcher (D – KY)
Senator Jim Sasser (D – TN)

Special awards given to
Representative Augustus Hawkins (D – CA)
Senator Daniel P. Moynihan (D – NY)

1991 Representative Pat Williams (D – MT)
1992 Representative Howard Wolpe (D – MI)
Senator David Boren (D – OK)
1993 Special award given to Senator Terry Sanford (D-NC)
1994 Representative Robert Kastenmeier (D–WI, retired)
1995 Representative John Lewis (D – GA)
Senator James Jeffords (R – VT)
1996 Representative George Brown (D – CA)
Senator Olympia Snowe (R – ME)
1997 Representative John Edward Porter (R – IL)
Senator Paul Wellstone (D – MN)
1998 Representative Nita Lowey (D – NY)
Senator Pete Domenciri (R – NM)
1999 Representative William Clay (D – MO)
2000 Representative Rush Holt (D – NJ)
2001 Representative David Obey (D – WI)
Senator Zell Miller (D – GA)
2002 Representative Patsy Mink (D – HI)
2003 Representative Sherwood Boehlert (R - NY)
2004 Representative Bernie Sanders (I - VT)


Senator Susan Collins (R - ME)

2006 Representative Betty McCollum (D-MN)





Senator Jack Reed (D-RI)

Representative Donald Payne (D-NJ)

Representative Joe Courtney (D-CT)

Representative Peter Welch ( D-VT)