Alert Top Message

Due to concerns about COVID-19, the AAUP office has transitioned to telework. Please contact staff by email.


Election Ballots Have Been Tallied

Wright State University professor Rudy Fichtenbaum has been re-elected president of the AAUP. Below, he is pictured at an AAUP Governance Conference.

Additionally, Hank Reichman (California State University-East Bay), first vice president; Susan Michalczyk (Boston College), second vice president; and Michele Ganon (Western Connecticut State University), secretary-treasurer were all re-elected for a second term.

A number of Council positions were also elected in this month's election. See the complete results here.

Fichtenbaum made this statement in response to his election:

Today the need for a bigger and stronger AAUP is greater than at any time since the founding of the AAUP nearly 100 years ago. The corporate attack on public higher education has led to dramatic declines in state support for higher education and ballooning student debt, particularly for working class students and students of color. The values and principles of academic freedom, shared governance and economic security for all of the members of our profession are foundational, because they enable us to fight back against the corporate agenda and ensure that higher education serves the common good. Our slate ran on a platform to emphasize organizing faculty to engage in collective action, using collective bargaining where possible and building strong advocacy chapters elsewhere. It is gratifying that our entire slate was reelected and I think it shows our members believe the changes we are making will help strengthen the AAUP.

Publication Date: 
Thursday, April 17, 2014