Alert Top Message

Due to concerns about COVID-19, AAUP office has transitioned to telework. Please contact staff by email.



Deepa Kumar and Deanna Wood Receive Georgina M. Smith Award

Deepa Kumar, associate professor of media studies at Rutgers University, and Deanna Wood, associate professor of the University of New Hampshire library faculty, were selected as recipients of AAUP’s 2016 Georgina M. Smith Award. Professor Kumar has championed greater participation of junior faculty, and especially women of color, in union membership, and made gender and race issues central to bargaining. Professor Wood has advanced the art of collective bargaining, improved procedures for grievances, worked for gender equity and anti-discrimination in contract language, and gained a strong paid parental leave policy for faculty at her institution.

The award was established in 1979 to honor the memory of Georgina M. Smith, a professor at Rutgers University, who was a committed feminist, an AAUP leader, and a strong supporter of her faculty union. The award is presented “to a person who has provided exceptional leadership in the past year in improving the status of academic women or in advancing collective bargaining and through that work has improved the profession in general.” Rather than grant these awards annually, the Association reserves the distinction for those occasions when the judges have identified particular candidates so outstanding as to merit being singled out.

Publication Date: 
Tuesday, June 14, 2016