Annual Conference on the State of Higher Education One Hundredth Annual Meeting of the AAUP

June 3, 2014
Contact: Robin Burns

Washington, DC—The American Association of University Professors (AAUP) will host its Annual Conference on the State of Higher Education on June 12–15, 2014, at the Mayflower Renaissance Washington DC Hotel.

The highlight of the Annual Conference on the State of Higher Education will be two days of presentations by faculty members and administrators from around the country. The presentations begin Thursday, June 12, and continue through Friday, June 13. Henry Reichman, chair of the AAUP’s Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure, will deliver the opening plenary address, “Can I Tweet That? Academic Freedom and Electronic Communications.” Presentations by faculty members and administrators from around the country will address the role of faculty in institutional decision making, collective bargaining in higher education, faculty working off the tenure track, assessment and accountability, the corporatization of teaching and research, academic freedom, and MOOCs and online in higher education, faculty working off the tenure track, assessment and accountability, the corporatization of teaching and research, academic freedom, and MOOCs and online education.

Other highlights include the following:

Thursday, June 12

  • Capitol Hill Day, the AAUP’s annual grassroots lobbying event, provides members an opportunity to advocate for higher education. AAUP members visit their senators and representatives and speak up about the issues that matter most to academia. The day concludes with a congressional reception on Capitol Hill in room B-340 of the Rayburn House Office Building.
  • Risa L. Lieberwitz will be the featured speaker at the AAUP-CBC banquet. Her topic is “Expanding Unionization in Private Universities: New Possibilities Pending at the NLRB.”

    Lieberwitz is professor of labor and employment law in the Cornell University School of Industrial and Labor Relations and an associate of the Worker Institute at Cornell. Much of her research has focused on the “corporatization” of colleges and universities and the impact of these developments on academic freedom and the role of higher education in a democratic society. Her current research addresses the role of collective bargaining in higher education in creating contractual protections for academic freedom and faculty governance. Lieberwitz is a longtime activist in faculty governance at Cornell. She is a member of the AAUP’s Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure.

Friday, June 13

  • The plenary luncheon speaker will be Daniel Maxey, who will speak about “Understanding the Changing Faculty and Promoting Opportunities for Change on Campuses.”

    Maxey, co-principal investigator at The Delphi Project, is dean’s fellow in urban education policy in the University of Southern California’s Rossier School of Education and the Pullias Center for Higher Education. At USC, Maxey’s research and publications have largely focused on non-tenure-track faculty. His research interests also include higher education policy and governance, politics of higher education, civic engagement, and the public roles and responsibilities of colleges and universities. Prior to beginning a career in higher education policy research, Daniel had an accomplished career in public policy and politics in Washington, DC. He holds a bachelor of arts in government from the College of William and Mary in Virginia and a master of education in higher and postsecondary education from the Mary Lou Fulton Institute and Graduate School of Education at Arizona State University.

  •  A cash bar reception with complimentary hors d’oeuvres will be held Friday evening.

Saturday, June 14

  •  The AAUP’s centennial kickoff luncheon will feature a special presentation, “‘To Make Collective Action Possible’: The Founding of the AAUP,” by Hans-Joerg Tiede.

    Tiede is a professor of computer science at Illinois Wesleyan University in Bloomington, Illinois. He is editor of the 2015 edition of Policy Documents and Reports (the “Redbook”) and chair of the AAUP’s Committee on the History of the Association. He also serves on Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure, the Committee on College and University Governance, and the Membership Committee. In addition to publications in mathematical linguistics and applied logic, he has authored and co-authored reports of the governance committee, articles in Academe, and entries on the history of the AAUP on the Academe Blog. His forthcoming article on the founding of the AAUP will appear in the Journal of Academic Freedom.

  • At the annual AAUP Awards Banquet, , 50-year members will be honored and they will share their perspectives. Mary King of Portland State University will receive the AAUP’s Georgina M. Smith Award. Additionally, writers David Glovin and John Hechinger of Bloomberg News will receive this year’s Iris Molotsky Award for Excellence in Coverage of Higher Education.

The conference also includes meetings of the AAUP Executive Committee and Council, the AAUP-CBC, and the Assembly of State Conferences. The annual meeting plenary (Saturday, June 14) will consider important business items such as investigations of alleged violations of academic freedom and tenure.

The complete program is posted on the AAUP’s website.  Members of the media are welcome to attend. For more information or to register, contact Robin Burns. .

The mission of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, promote the economic security of those who teach and research in higher education, and to ensure higher education’s contribution to the common good. Founded in 1915, the AAUP has helped to shape American higher education by developing the standards and procedures that maintain quality in education and academic freedom in this country’s colleges and universities. The AAUP is a nonprofit professional association headquartered in Washington, DC.

Media Contact: 
Robin Burns,
Publication Date: 
Tuesday, June 3, 2014