Gwendolyn Bradley

Victory on the Horizon

The University of the Virgin Islands AAUP chapter received good news in February when a superior court in the Virgin Islands affirmed that faculty at UVI are eligible for collective bargaining. The ruling came after a five-year struggle with a hostile administration. In fall 2003, the UVI faculty reestablished its chapter of the AAUP, and within a few months, a majority of the faculty had joined the chapter.

Annual Meeting Resolutions Committee

The 2009 Annual Meeting Resolutions Committee is as follows: Jeff Butts (Biology), Appalachian State University, chair; Lenore A. Beaky (English), La Guardia Community College, City University of New York; and Kevin Mattson (History), Ohio University. The committee will be staffed by AAUP general secretary Gary Rhoades.

Subscribe to Gwendolyn Bradley