Alert Top Message

The AAUP office reopened on September 7, 2021. Contact information for all staff, including those working remotely or on a hybrid schedule, is available here



Outstanding Achievement Award

The Outstanding Achievement Award was established in 2016 by combining three previous awards honoring Beatrice Konheim, William Tacey, and Al Sumberg. In recognition of the outstanding efforts of these individuals on behalf of AAUP principles, the award goes to an individual AAUP member for outstanding chapter- or conference-level work in advancing academic freedom or shared governance; promoting the economic security of academics; helping the higher education community organize; or ensuring higher education's contribution to the common good.

The award, in the form of a certificate of recognition, is presented at the AAUP Conference and Biennial Meeting, which occurs in even numbered years. The winner receives a monetary award in the amount of $500, which may be split among multiple winners.

Please contact Malori Musselman for more information. We will update the list of winners soon and notify you when the 2021 award period is open.

Recipients of the Outstanding Achievement Award

  • 2017: Charlie Baker, College of the Holy Cross
  • 2018: Alexander Zukas, National University
  • 2019: AAUP-Wright State University Chapter (AAUP-WSU)
  • 2020: Becky Hawbaker, University of Northern Iowa