Alert Top Message

Due to concerns about COVID-19, the AAUP office has transitioned to telework. Please contact staff by email.



2020 Election Information

Election Results

Two hundred and thirteen chapter and section ballots were cast in the AAUP officer and Council mail ballot election. The ballots cast represented a total of 22,305 votes. See the results of the AAUP officer and Council elections in a PDF document

Due to guidance issued by the CDC and state and local governments, we are unable to hold the June 18–21 AAUP Conference and Biennial Meeting as scheduled. The AAUP Biennial Meeting scheduled for June 19–20, 2020 was postponed in part and rescheduled for November 22. The election of AAUP officers and Council members scheduled for the Biennial Meeting will be conducted by a secret mail ballot of chapter and section delegates starting on or about June 19, 2020.* 

Nominations for officer and Council positions closed on March 15, 2020, and the nominees are listed below in ballot order. The deadlines and procedures for chapter and member good standing and for delegate registration remain the same, with the exception that delegates will not be expected to be credentialed at the meeting. Delegates will cast the ballots equal to the number of members in the chapter or section. If a chapter or section has more than one delegate, each delegate would receive ballots representing an equal portion of the votes to which the chapter or section is entitled, with the delegation distributing any remaining votes. The ballots will be mailed to each delegate’s home address on record with the AAUP on or about June 19, 2020, and must be returned in the return envelope provided and received no later than 28 days after mailing.

* The Council passed Emergency Election Rules applicable to the 2020 elections. These Emergency Election Rules modify or interpret the AAUP Constitution, the AAUP Election Rules, the AAUP Weighted Voting and Delegate Credentialing Procedures, and other rules applicable to elections.

2020 Emergency Election Rules (supplemental to Election Rules)

2020 Nominees

2020 Officer and Council Candidate Video Campaign Speeches

2020 Nomination and Election Notice

2020 Nominating Committee Final Report

2020 Delegate Forms

AAUP Constitution (see Article 5 for nomination and election provisions)

Constitutional Amendment Proviso (approved June 15, 2019)

Election Rules

Weighted Voting and Delegate Credentialing Procedures

Election Guidance for Chapters

AAUP At-Large Chapter

Information and Resources for Sections

In 2020, three officers—president, vice president, and secretary-treasurer—and two at-large Council members will be elected. Elections will be conducted by secret ballot of the credentialed (also called accredited) delegates casting the weighted vote of their chapters as specified in Article VI, Sections 3 and 4, of the AAUP Constitution. The list of candidates is below. The names of the candidates for the two Council seats are listed in random order, as required under the new election rules. You can find candidate statements and biographies for individuals who have provided them at the links for each candidate's name below and video campaign speeches for officer and Council candidates here.

2020 Nominees


Irene Mulvey, Fairfield University

Vice President
Paul Davis, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College

Christopher Sinclair, University of Oregon

Council Members

At Large
Brian Turner, Randolph-Macon College
David Reid, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Siobhan Senier, University of New Hampshire
Nivedita Majumdar, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY
Rick Feinberg, Kent State University
Brian T. Gallagher, University of Rhode Island
Donald Allensworth-Davies, Cleveland State University
Michael DeCesare, Merrimack College
Glinda Rawls, Western Michigan University
Adolfo Campoy-Cubillo, Oakland University
Henry Reichman, California State University, East Bay

Watch the 2020 AAUP officer and Council candidate campaign speeches here.