2018 Election Information

In 2018, the AAUP membership will elect four national officers and a total of fourteen additional Council members: four at-large positions, and one position in each of the ten geographical districts. The Nominating Committee sought to find at least two candidates for each position. The process resulted in 41 candidates completing the requirements to be placed on the ballot. The list of candidates is below. The candidate statements and biographies of those candidates who submitted them are linked to their names below.

The election packages and postcards will be mailed between March 3 and March 7. The election opens at this time and closes on April 16. The ballots will be tabulated on April 17, and results will be verified after April 18. 2018 Campaign and Election Procedures is a compendium of useful information about the rules, including electioneering guidelines, governing this year’s election.

Any eligible member who does not receive a ballot in the mail at home or who spoils a ballot may request a new ballot by calling Election-America at (888) 914-5654 or e-mailing Election-America at Help+AAUP@election-america.com. If you request and return another ballot, only the replacement ballot will be counted.

2018 Candidates



-- Rudy Fichtenbaum, Wright State University

First Vice-President

-- Brooks Ellwood, Louisiana State University

-- Henry Reichman, California State University, East Bay

-- Alfred Williams, Indian River State College

Second Vice-President

-- Daniel Henrich, Edward Waters College

-- Caprice Lawless, Front Range Community College


-- Michele Ganon, Western Connecticut State University

Council Members

At Large

-- Linda Carroll, Tulane University of Louisiana

-- Jane Harty, Pacific Lutheran University

-- Robert Kreiser, George Mason University

-- La Della Levy, College of Southern Nevada

-- Josephine McQuail, Tennessee Technological University

-- Vipin Menon, McNeese State University

-- Patricia Navarra, Hofstra University

-- Diana Rios, University of Connecticut

-- David Sanders, Purdue University

-- Lynn Tatum, Baylor University

-- Sudhir Trivedi, Southern University and A&M College

-- Donna Young, Albany Law School


I (Arizona, Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah)

-- Alex Zukas, National University

II (Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, Wyoming)

-- James Klein, Del Mar College

-- Jonathan Rees, Colorado State University

III (Michigan)

-- Rubén Martinez, Michigan State University

-- Charles Parrish, Wayne State University

-- Glinda Rawls, Western Michigan University

IV (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin)

-- Loren Glass, University of Iowa

-- David Nalbone, Purdue University Northwest

-- David Schultz, Hamline University

V (Alabama, Arkansas, Canada, District of Columbia, Florida, Foreign, Georgia, Guam, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virgin Islands, Virginia, West Virginia)

-- Monica Black, University of Tennessee

-- James Blackwell, Francis Marion University

-- Kevin Cope, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge

-- Jessica Doble, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

VI (Ohio)

-- Huey-Li Li, University of Akron

-- Noeleen McIlvenna, Wright State University

VII (New Jersey)

-- Zoran Gajic, Rutgers University, New Brunswick

VIII (New York)

-- James Davis, Brooklyn College

IX (Connecticut)

-- Irene Mulvey, Fairfield University

X (Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont)

-- Carolyn Betensky, University of Rhode Island

-- Yolanda Flores, University of Vermont

-- Siobhan Senier, University of New Hampshire

-- George Wharton, Curry College


Nominating Committee

On December 21, 2017, the Nominating Committee issued its final nominations report, which appears above, to the AAUP national Council. See the 2018 nominations announcement.

The members of the 2018 Nominating Committee are:

Natalio Avani, Chair (San Francisco State University)

Leslie Bary (University of Louisiana, Lafayette)

Anne Friedman (Manhattan Community College)

Mike Kimaid (Bowling Green State University)

Brian Turner (Randolph-Macon College)

The committee worked collaboratively to recruit and review candidates for the 2018 Council election. A call for nominations was published in the 2017 Bulletin and in the September–October and the November–December issues of Academe, and multiple electronic notices and reminder emails were sent to all members and to chapter leaders from September up until right before the December deadline. In addition, individual committee members sent multiple call-for-nominations emails and made other contacts to various chapters as well as to national and state leadership bodies of the AAUP. Complete information about the nominations process also was posted on the AAUP website.