ASSOCIATION OFFICERS AND COUNCIL, 2010-11

Association officers are ex officio members of the Council, as are the chair and past chair of the Assembly of State Conferences and the chair and past chair of the Collective Bargaining Congress. Former president (2000–2006) Jane L. Buck completed her three-year term as immediate past president in 2009.

A list of Association officers, general counsel, and

Council members follows, with dates of term expiration noted at the end of each entry. An asterisk denotes a Council member or officer serving in his or her second term. Two asterisks denote an officer serving in his or her third term. The distribution of states in each district is based on the redistricting plan approved by the Council on June 9, 2006.

Association Officers

PRESIDENT

**Cary Nelson (English), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

FIRST VICE PRESIDENT

Wendy W. Roworth (Art History) University of Rhode Island

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT

**Estelle S. Gellman (Educational Psychology), Hofstra University

SECRETARY-TREASURER

*Howard Bunsis (Accounting), Eastern Michigan University

GENERAL COUNSEL

Robert M. O'Neil (Law), University of Virginia

Council Members

District I (Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah)

*Marc Bousquet (English), Santa Clara University, California, 2011

*Candace C. Kant (History), College of Southern Nevada, 2012

DISTRICT II (ALASKA, IDAHO, KANSAS, MINNESOTA, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NORTH DAKOTA, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, SOUTH DAKOTA, TEXAS, WASHINGTON, WISCONSIN, WYOMING)

Cecilia Konchar Farr (English and Women's Studies), St. Catherine University, 2011

*Donna L. Potts (English), Kansas State University, 2012

DISTRICT III (MICHIGAN)

Joel Russell (Chemistry), Oakland University, 2011 Susan Moeller (Accounting/Finance), Eastern Michigan University, 2012

DISTRICT IV (ARKANSAS, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, IOWA, KENTUCKY, MISSOURI, TENNESSEE, VIRGINIA)

Saranna Thornton (Economics), Hampden-Sydney College, 2011

Craig Vasey (Philosophy), University of Mary Washington, 2012

DISTRICT V (ALABAMA, CANADA, FLORIDA, FOREIGN, GEORGIA, GUAM, LOUISIANA, MARYLAND, MISSISSIPPI, NORTH CAROLINA, PUERTO RICO, SOUTH CAROLINA, VIRGIN ISLANDS, WEST VIRGINIA)

Larry G. Gerber (History), Auburn University, 2011 Donald R. Wagner (Political Science), University of West Georgia, 2012

DISTRICT VI (OHIO)

Kevin Mattson (History), Ohio University, 2011 Jennifer Larson (Classics), Kent State University, 2012

DISTRICT VII (NEW JERSEY)

Carl E. Cuttita (Communications), Union County College, 2011¹

*Karen G. Thompson (English), Rutgers University, 2012

DISTRICT VIII (NEW YORK)

*Ellen W. Schrecker (History), Yeshiva University, 2011

*Lenore A. Beaky (English), LaGuardia Community College, City University of New York, 2012

138

2010 BULLETIN WWW.AAUP.ORG

DISTRICT IX (CONNECTICUT, NEW HAMPSHIRE, VERMONT)

Irene Mulvey (Mathematics), Fairfield University, 2011 Joan Chrisler (Psychology), Connecticut College, 2012

DISTRICT X (DELAWARE, MAINE, MASSACHUSETTS, PENNSYLVANIA, RHODE ISLAND)

*Michael Bérubé (English), Pennsylvania State University, 2011

Gerald Turkel (Sociology), University of Delaware, 2012

AT LARGE

Jacqueline Arante (English), Portland State University, 2013

Jane L. Buck (Psychology), Delaware State University, 2013

Deanna D. Wood (Library), University of New Hampshire, 2013

Rana Jaleel (American Studies), New York University, 2012

Charles J. Parrish (Political Science), Wayne State University, 2012

Sheila Teahan (English), Michigan State University, 2012

Stephen H. Aby (Bibliography), University of Akron, 2011 Richard Gomes (ESL), Rutgers University, 2011 Jeffrey Williams (English), Carnegie Mellon University, 2011

Ex Officio from Assembly of State Conferences

Donna L. Potts (English), Kansas State University, 2011

PAST CHAIR

Judith L. Johnston (English), Rider University, 2014

Ex Officio from Collective Bargaining Congress Chair

Howard Bunsis (Accounting), Eastern Michigan University, 2011

PAST CHAIR

Jeffrey R. Halpern (Anthropology), Rider University, 2012

Note

1. Elected in September 2009 to fill the unexpired term of Judith L. Johnston, who was elected chair of the Assembly of State Conferences in June 2009. ■