ASSOCIATION OFFICERS AND COUNCIL, 2011-12

Association officers are ex officio members of the Council, as are the chair and past chair of the Assembly of State Conferences and the chair and past chair of the Collective Bargaining Congress. Former president (2000–2006) Jane L. Buck completed her three-year term as immediate past president in 2009.

A list of Association officers, general counsel, and

Council members follows, with dates of term expiration noted at the end of each entry. An asterisk denotes a Council member or officer serving in his or her second term. Two asterisks denote a Council member or officer serving in his or her third term. The distribution of states in each district is based on the redistricting plan approved by the Council on June 9, 2006.

Association Officers

PRESIDENT

**Cary Nelson (English), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

FIRST VICE PRESIDENT

Wendy W. Roworth (Art History), University of Rhode Island

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT

**Estelle S. Gellman (Educational Psychology), Hofstra University

SECRETARY-TREASURER

*Howard Bunsis (Accounting), Eastern Michigan University

GENERAL COUNSEL

Robert M. O'Neil (Law), University of Virginia

Council Members

District I (Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah)

*Candace C. Kant (History), College of Southern Nevada. 2012

Henry Reichman (History), California State University, East Bay, 2014

DISTRICT II (ALASKA, IDAHO, KANSAS, MINNESOTA, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NORTH DAKOTA, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, SOUTH DAKOTA, TEXAS, WASHINGTON, WISCONSIN, WYOMING)

Jeremy Nienow (Anthropology), Minneapolis Community and Technical College; Inver Hills Community College, 2012¹ Rachel Roiblatt (Social Work), University of Nebraska at Omaha, 2014

DISTRICT III (MICHIGAN)

Susan Moeller (Accounting/Finance), Eastern Michigan University, 2012

Allen Zagarell (Anthropology), Western Michigan University, 2014

DISTRICT IV (ARKANSAS, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, IOWA, KENTUCKY, MISSOURI, TENNESSEE, VIRGINIA)

Craig Vasey (Philosophy), University of Mary Washington, 2012

Daniel Murphy (History), Hanover College, 2014

DISTRICT V (ALABAMA, CANADA, FLORIDA, FOREIGN, GEORGIA, GUAM, LOUISIANA, MARYLAND, MISSISSIPPI, NORTH CAROLINA, PUERTO RICO, SOUTH CAROLINA, VIRGIN ISLANDS, WEST VIRGINIA)

Donald R. Wagner (Political Science), University of West Georgia, 2012

Linda Carroll (Italian), Tulane University, 2014

DISTRICT VI (OHIO)

Vacant, 2012²

Rudy H. Fichtenbaum (Economics), Wright State University, 2014

DISTRICT VII (NEW JERSEY)

*Karen G. Thompson (English), Rutgers University, 2012

Robert S. Boikess (Chemistry), Rutgers University, 2014

135

WWW.AAUP.ORG 2011 BULLETIN

DISTRICT VIII (NEW YORK)

*Lenore A. Beaky (English), LaGuardia Community College, City University of New York, 2012 Christopher Moylan (English), New York Institute of Technology, 2014

DISTRICT IX (CONNECTICUT, NEW HAMPSHIRE, VERMONT)

Joan Chrisler (Psychology), Connecticut College, 2012 *Irene Mulvey (Mathematics), Fairfield University, 2014

DISTRICT X (DELAWARE, MAINE, MASSACHUSETTS, PENNSYLVANIA, RHODE ISLAND)

Gerald Turkel (Sociology), University of Delaware, 2012 Charles Baker (French and Film), College of the Holy Cross, 2014

AT-LARGE

Kim Emery (English), University of Florida, 2014
*Cecilia Konchar Farr (English and Women's Studies),
St. Catherine University, 2014

Jeanette Jeneault (Writing), Syracuse University, 2014 *Jacqueline Arante (English), Portland State University, 2013

Jane L. Buck (Psychology), Delaware State University, 2013

Deanna D. Wood (Library), University of New Hampshire, 2013

Rana Jaleel (American Studies), New York University, 2012

Charles J. Parrish (Political Science), Wayne State University, 2012

Sheila Teahan (English), Michigan State University, 2012

Ex Officio from Assembly of State Conferences

CHAIR

*Donna L. Potts (English), Kansas State University, 2013

PAST CHAIR

Judith L. Johnston (English), Rider University, 2014

Ex Officio from Collective Bargaining Congress

CHAIR

Howard Bunsis (Accounting), Eastern Michigan University, 2013

PAST CHAIR

Jeffrey R. Halpern (Anthropology), Rider University, 2012

Notes

- 1. Jeremy Nienow was elected by the Council in November 2010 to fill the vacant seat in District II.
- 2. Jennifer Larson resigned following the June 2011 Council meeting. A Council election will be held to fill the vacant seat in District VI. ■

136

2011 BULLETIN WWW.AAUP.ORG