Alert Top Message

Due to concerns about COVID-19, the AAUP office has transitioned to telework. Please contact staff by email.



AAUP Elects National Council Members and ASC Chair

For Release: April  16, 2011.
For more information, contact: Robin Burns.
View the full election results.

Washington, D.C. —The American Association of University Professors elected thirteen members to its National Council, the governing body of the Association. The ten District Council members represent one of ten geographical districts and the three at-large Council members may come from any of the ten districts. The Council meets twice a year, in June and November, usually in Washington, D.C. to determine Association policy.

The new Council members with their affiliations and districts are listed below.

In addition, Donna Potts (Kansas State University) has been re-elected as chair of the Assembly of State Conferences (ASC). The ASC is the umbrella organization for individual state AAUP conferences.

At-Large Council Members

Kim Emery, English, University of Florida

Cecilia  Konchar Farr, English and Women’s Studies, St. Catherine University

Jeanette Jeneault, Writing, Syracuse University

District Council Members by District

District 1 Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah

Henry Reichman, History, California State University - East Bay

District 2 Alaska, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon,  South Dakota, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Rachel Roiblatt, Social Work, University of Nebraska Omaha

District 3 Michigan

Allen Zagarell, Anthropology, Western Michigan University

District 4 Arkansas, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Missouri, Tennessee, Virginia

Dan Murphy, History, Hanover College

District 5 Alabama, Canada, Florida, Foreign, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Virgin Islands, West Virginia

Linda Carroll, Italian, Tulane University

District 6 Ohio

Rudy Fichtenbaum, Economics, Wright State University

District 7 New Jersey

Bob Boikess, Chemistry, Rutgers University

District 8 New York

Christopher Moylan, English, New York Institute of Technology

District 9 Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont

Irene Mulvey, Mathematics, Fairfield University

District 10  Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island

Charles Baker, French and Film, College of the Holy Cross

Media Contact: 
Robin Burns
Publication Date: 
Saturday, April 16, 2011