Annual Conference on the State of Higher Education

Ninety-sixth Annual Meeting of the AAUP

June 2, 2010
Contact: Robin Burns
Members of the media are welcome to attend. 
If interested, please contact Robin Burns.


Washington, D.C.— The American Association of University Professors (AAUP) will host its Annual Conference on the State of Higher Education on June 9–13 at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Panels providing a faculty perspective on critical issues in higher education will run all day Wednesday, June 9, through Saturday, June 13.  The conference will also include a special AAUP-sponsored workshop on: “Protecting an Independent Faculty Voice at Public Institutions: the Legal Landscape” and a keynote presentation by AAUP president Cary Nelson: “No University is an Island.”

Other highlights include:

Thursday, June 10: Capitol Hill Day 

Professors from across the country will visit Capitol Hill to talk with their representatives and senators about academic freedom, funding, and other issues affecting higher education. The day will be capped with a reception.  The reception will be held at B 338 Rayburn Building from 4:00–6:00 p.m. Congressman Donald Payne of New Jersey will be presented the Henry T. Yost Award.  The Yost Award is given to the senators and representatives who make the greatest contribution for higher education each year.

Friday, June 11

Gaye Tuchman of the University of Connecticut, author of Wannabe U: Inside the Corporate University, will be the luncheon plenary speaker.  The title of her presentation  is “Painting by Numbers.”

Saturday, June 12

AAUP’s  Annual Business Meeting. On Saturday, the annual meeting business session begins at 9 a.m. and will include consideration of the recommendations of the AAUP’s Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure regarding additions to the AAUP’s censure list. This list is published for the purpose of informing Association members, the profession at large, and the public that academic freedom is not adequately protected at the institutions listed.

Also under consideration will be the recommendations of AAUP’s Committee on College and University Governance regarding additions to the Association’s sanction list. The AAUP annual meeting has the authority to sanction an institution for substantial noncompliance with standards of academic governance.

The banquet keynote speaker, Melissa Goodman of the American Civil Liberties Union, will speak on “The Dangers of Ideological Exclusion and Surveillance.” Also, at the banquet, Patricia McGuire, president of Trinity Washington University, will receive the AAUP’s Alexander Meiklejohn Award for Academic Freedom.  This award is given to an American college or university administrator in recognition of an outstanding contribution to academic freedom during the preceding year.

Members of the media are welcome to attend.  If  interested, please contact Robin Burns. For more information, contact Robin Burns.

The American Association of University Professors is a nonprofit charitable and educational organization that promotes academic freedom by supporting tenure, academic due process, and standards of quality in higher education. The AAUP has about 47,000 members at colleges and universities throughout the United States.

Media Contact: 
Robin Burns
Publication Date: 
Wednesday, June 2, 2010