2019 ASC Election Information

Assembly of State Conferences Nominating Committee Final Report

The members of the Nominating Committee are:

Sally Dear-Healey, Chair, NYS-AAUP
Jonathan Rees, Colorado State University–Pueblo
Alex Zukas, National University

The committee worked collaboratively to recruit and review candidates for the 2019 ASC election. Electronic notices were sent to all members in states with active conferences on December 15, January 5, and January 16. In addition, complete information was posted on the AAUP website.

In 2019, the ASC membership will elect three ASC Executive Committee members: Treasurer and two At-Large Members. All three positions will be elected by delegates to the June 2019 ASC Business Meeting in Arlington, VA. Nominations may also be made from the floor of that meeting, provided that nominees receive written endorsement from no fewer than three authorized delegates to the Assembly. Nomination forms will be available to members before the start of the ASC Business Meeting.

The Nominating Committee sought to find at least two candidates for each position. The process resulted in two candidates for the position of Treasurer. There were ten nominations for the two At-Large Member positions, but only eight nominees decided to proceed as candidates. The list of candidates is below.

2019 Nominees for the position of Treasurer:            

Mark Painter, Misericordia University
George Pieczenik, Rutgers University

2019 Nominees for the two positions of At-Large Members:

Heidi M. Altman, Georgia Southern University
Kevin Cope, Louisiana State University–Baton Rouge
Diane Klein, University of La Verne College of Law
Margaret LeCompte, University of Colorado at Boulder
Daniel P. Murphy, Hanover College
George Pieczenik, Rutgers University
Marcelo Godoy Simões, Colorado School of Mines
Lynn Tatum, Baylor University

Election of ASC Officers

The election for the offices of Treasurer and the two At-Large Members will take place at the June 2019 ASC Business Meeting in Arlington, VA. All three positions shall be elected by a majority vote of delegates present and voting at the time of the casting of ballots. If there is no majority for an office after an initial balloting, the voting shall take place immediately again. No candidates shall be dropped from the voting unless they withdraw voluntarily.

See the Call for Nominations.